Indian Wedding Jewelry Care Package

I drove over to Berkeley this weekend. Since Autumn and I are no longer together there is really no reason for me to be there anymore. It’s almost like a no-man’s land over the border that you don’t dare visit because memories will surface that you would rather not think about. Over the past few years I spent so much time in Berkeley with Autumn going to shops and restaurants there probably isn’t a single street that would not trigger a moment from the past. I’d rather try to forget. Something compelled me to make the afternoon trip though. It was going to be a quick dash to one location and then turn around to bounce out.

Through the mail I sent Jacinda some music CDs. She seemed to like them, and we’ve been in more regular contact since then. She doesn’t write or put anything in the mail. I send stuff, she calls and we talk. I’m cool with that. From the sound of things she really is bored and doesn’t have a whole lot to look forward to each day. So I been thinking it might be fun to send her some of those elaborate Indian wedding necklaces I used to buy for Autumn. Each one is different, with deep colors and bright gold or silver metal bits holding all the cut glass together. Honestly when I see a woman wearing one of them it does make me kinda squirmy. Especially the necklaces that plunge from a girl’s neck line down to the cleavage. I can’t help but let my eyes be dragged downward by the jewelry…

Taking the freeway exit I drove a couple blocks up University and parked the car around the corner from a shop Autumn and I used to frequent. As I shoved the door open and walked inside I was greeted by the owner. I don’t know her name, but the woman is always there. Dressed in a colorful sari and with her graying hair pulled back tightly she recognized me with a big smile and asked how Autumn was. I frowned, quietly told her we weren’t together anymore and mentioned something about being angry over the whole situation. The old Indian woman seemed very surprised at the news and changed the subject. It was an awkward moment. Leaving me alone I wandered away from the front counter to browse the latest arrivals on racks around the shop floor. I stared at expensive traditional wedding jewelry secured behind back lit glass display cases for a few minutes. Nobody else was in the store and neither one of us spoke as I walked around looking.

It didn’t take long. I found a nice emerald green necklace, and two others that I suspected Jacinda might like. After selecting them the old woman brought them to the counter, carefully wrapped them all up and gave me the bill. I paid and left just about as fast as I could. Driving home I thought about when I might ship Jacinda the first one and wondered if she would be happy, or if the gesture would somehow backfire in a way I might seriously regret.

~ by factorypeasant on November 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “Indian Wedding Jewelry Care Package”

  1. ohhh ya the gud stuf iz kumin!!!!

  2. yep. none of it was funny at the time, but looking back on it now it is hilarious. this has to be one of the dumbest things i have ever done in my life… moving in with Jennifer was damn stupid. the Jacinda episodes took the top prize for retarded shit though.

Leave a Reply

 
