Climbing Out

This is like, the sixth or seventh time we’ve had to stop so I can rest for a few minutes. I think I’m going to kick the bucket. My heart is pounding so hard that I can hear it in my ears. The left side of my chest hurts and so does my skull. This isn’t good. With every thump of my heart, everything I see sparkles like fireworks for a split second. Each pulse resonates with pain behind my eyes. If I collapse out here on this dusty trail I’m certain to be a gonner. There’s nobody around. Neither Autumn or Jamie are going to know what to do. They’ll probably just be freaks and that will be the last thing I see as I fade out. Maybe I’ll laugh at Autumn as I die.

Hiking down to Lake Elenor sure was easier than climbing out. Shit.

Gotta stop thinking about it. I’ll make it to the car. Just catch your breath. Quit dwelling on how out of shape you are. Ease up, walk slower the rest of the way up this hillside. Let those two blockheads keep going if you have to and don’t worry about holding them up. Go at your own pace. They’re getting further away. Let them.

It’s the heat. It’s the thinner air. You’re not used to it is all.

Yeah, right.

~ by factorypeasant on April 21, 2007.

One Response to “Climbing Out”

  1. Man you should have an easier time without all those dead bodies. Did you eat to much of the human liver? You always were glutton for the human liver. Serves you right, people are filth and you are what you e eat. Thats why i only eat money and jewels and expensive electronics…i gots class now.

    DT

Leave a Reply

 
