Driving To Yosemite

Jamie, driving alone in his overheating car, left for Dimond O hours before me and Autumn. I thought that was a bad idea because during the steep climb up through the mountains leading to Yosemite his car’s engine might quit. Being stranded on the side of a road by yourself is a real drag. If we were following right behind, Autumn and I could obviously stay with him and lend a hand if needed. That wasn’t the way things worked though. I kept my mouth shut about it and went along with Autumn’s master plan.

The Focus was jam-packed with camping gear. Autumn included an inflatable queen-sized matress, bed sheets and comforter, pillows, kitchen silverware, dishes, pots and pans, and luggage. There were multiple bags of groceries that Autumn bought for us the day before. I brought an ice chest for perhishables and some drinks. It was amazing to see the large amount of crap the two of us were able to slam into my little sedan. The trunk really is bigger than it appears.

Autumn paid for everything. She reserved the campsite long in advance, bought the inflatable mattress and some other items at a sporting goods store, and bought all the grub. I felt like an idiot for being penniless, unable to help pay for stuff. Actually that’s an ongoing problem of mine. I guess I have some cheesy 1950s mentality ingraned into the forefront of my mind that I must buy Autumn things and pay for the majority of our entertainment costs, etc. Girls aren’t supposed to pay for dinners and various outings. I do that frequently on weekends when Autumn and I are alone together. Then I end up leaving my bank account short unable to pay personal bills at the end of the month. It’s dumb. It’s also a big reason why Autumn has concluded I am a financial retard.

Driving out of the Berkeley area was a little stressful due to my disc brake situation. I tried to go easy on them giving us plenty of extra room to roll into a stop without really hammering the brakes more than necessary. Once we were on the freeway out of daily Bay Area traffic things weren’t so bad. Still, I couldn’t relax. I was fairly stressed out wondering if something serious would happen to my driver’s side brake rotor. I also was beating myself up pretty bad for having an empty wallet. While we continued on the road I wasn’t very talkative to Autumn. She sensed I was being weird, which made her act strange. It was an awkward ride together.

Stopping for lunch in a small town along the way we ate at a Denny’s. There didn’t appear to be much else available in this depressing place so that’s where we went. I try to avoid Denny’s at all times because something in their cooking makes me gut-sick. I have no way of knowing for sure but I think it is their cooking oil. Gives me the shits. Since Autumn was buying I decided not to complain about it and hope for the best. I didn’t want to seem like even more of a pain to be dragging around on a camping trip.

About an hour and a half later the gut-sickness started. It began as a slow ache in my stomach and then rapidly turned into sharp pains. There was no way in hell I’d be able to hold it until arriving at Dimond O. We were too far away. I scanned the side of the road for anywhere proper to pull over so I could run into the treeline and let loose. Nowhere suitable came up. Then we hit some traffic due to a roadwork construction crew. They had blocked off one lane completely causing long delays. I was mightily screwed. As we rounded a long, sweeping corner I spotted a tourist vista point on a cliff overlooking a deep valley. At the end of the parking lot there was a stonework building with a sign on it that said “Restroom.” I was saved.

Late that afternoon we made it to Dimond O. Winding slowly through dozens of empty campsites at five miles an hour Autumn and I located our reserved spot when she pointed out Jamie’s car. He made it okay after all.

~ by factorypeasant on February 16, 2007.

3 Responses to “Driving To Yosemite”

  1. Too bad you found the rest stop, the image of Autumn scowling in the car on the side of the freeway while you squatted in some bushes had such potential.

  2. hay thanks for the feedback on this one. fixed up.

    i got to do that to Autumn on other outings. there was this one time we went shooting in a remote location during a heavy rain storm and i had to take a crap soooooo bad that…

  3. *p00t* i hear you m8

Leave a Reply

 
