Vanished Without A Trace

Big Dog stopped by my desk earlier this morning. He was grinning and laughing like a villain about something, why I had no idea. Big Dog leaned up against the edge of my work bench and said, “Remember that Ergo Lift you got rid of a while ago?”

“Yeah, sure.”

“Facilities workers came through that excess office furniture storage out on the basketball court to take everything away last week. They found the Ergo Lift but they didn’t know what to do with it or who it belonged to. They left it lying there out in the open.”

Oh shit. I figured sooner or later those office cabinets would be scrapped or recycled, but I didn’t expect it to happen this quickly. I began to worry. Miss Auschwitz is constantly marauding around loose all over the factory campus. If she walked across the open air basketball court between building two and three, she’d certainly see that hunk of crap lying there on a pallet. She’d find me and bitch about it then force that monstrosity back into my area. Screw that.

“I gotta go stash that thing someplace else Big Dog! I’ll be right back.”

Big Dog started busting a gut with laughter. He said, “It’s already taken care of.”

“Really?” I asked.

“One of the engineers in another department saw the Ergo Lift. He was pretty sure it belonged to us so he dropped by my cubicle and asked if we still needed it, why it was outside, etc. He said he wanted to use it for spare parts on some other projects. I told him he could have it. Engineering hauled that sucker off of the court and disassembled the whole machine. It’s gone, been completely dismantled. There’s nothing left.”

Now that really was funny. I sat back in my desk chair laughing my head off. What a relief. The Ergo Lift is gone for good. Thanks to a resourceful engineer that junk heap has vanished without a trace. Miss Auschwitz will never know the truth. Sweet. Both of us giggled like fiends for a few minutes just thinking about it.

~ by factorypeasant on January 26, 2007.

2 Responses to “Vanished Without A Trace”

  1. Sometimes things just work out.

  2. sure as hell did this time.

Leave a Reply

 
