3.5.1993

During lunch today I was flipping channels and I caught part of a Woody Allen film. I forget which one it was, but he says something like “There are two kinds of people in the world… the horrible and the miserable. The horrible are those who are blind and crippled and have to live with these awful impairments. Everyone else is the miserable”. I better get used to being miserable.

I took the car out to the coast and when I got there late in the afternoon I lit up a nice stinky cigar. I wanted to watch the sun go down and puff away on a stogie. I sat there in the car overlooking the sea on a cliff and listened to Chrome on the stereo. I never watched the sun set over the ocean before. The sky turned a pale yellow and over my left shoulder I could see the moon. There weren’t any other cars around and in the distance on the beach I saw a couple small groups of people wandering aimlessly. The waves breaking on the sand were extra choppy so the tide must have been coming in. The crests of the waves picked up some of the yellow color from the sunset and it had the effect of making the water look extra dingy and grimy. I kinda liked it.

~ by factorypeasant on August 31, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
